4 More Surfers Qualify for Tokyo 2020

November 11th, 2019

4 more surfers have secured their places for the Tokyo 2020 Olympics following the Rip Curl Pro in Portugal

The USA’s Kolohe Andino, Brazil’s Tatiana Weston-Webb, and France’s Jeremy Flores and Johanne Defay will make the trek to the Tokyo Olympics in 2020.

There is one event remaining on the World Surf League tour schedule. The final six men’s and four women’s places will be fought out at the December Billabong Pipe Masters.

Here are the current surfers that have qualified.

2019 World Surf League Championship TourJordy Smith (RSA)
Kolohe Andino (USA)
Kanoa Igarashi (JPN)
Jeremy Flores (FRA)6 more slots TBC
Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)
Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
Johanne Defay (FRA)
Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA)4 more slots TBC
2020 ISA World Surfing Games (May 2020)5 slots TBC7 slots TBC
2019 ISA World Surfing GamesShun Murakami (JPN)
Ramzi Boukhiam (MAR)
Billy Stairmand (NZL)
Frederico Morais (POR)
Shino Matsuda (JPN)
Anat Lelior (ISR)
Bianca Buitendag (RSA)
Ella Williams (NZL)
Lima 2019 Pan Am GamesLucca Messinas (PER)Daniella Rosas (PER)
Total20 men20 women
Categories: Contests, Olympics